top of page

Just a Tumbleweed

Looking back on my old Alabaster Disaster blog I noticed it's been over two years since my last update. There have been a lot of soul searching and changes that have gone on since then--all for the better. I've been working as editor over at the High Plains Reader and transformed into a tumbleweed and have successfully avoided unnecessary hangups and the treachery of barbed wire fences for the time being.

I spend my time between Jamestown and Fargo but it's time well spent. I think tumbling from one point to another provides both a valuable perspective and time well spent with family and friends. I meet a lot of interesting people in my travels and find a lot of much needed inspiration for my art and writing--though finding the time to do all of the above is the real challenge.

Getting hired on at the HPR is probably one of the best things that ever happened to me. It's humbling to know that John and Raul had enough faith to trust their paper in my hands is still inconceivable. I'm doing the best that I can and I hope our readers enjoy it. It's a privilege to work with our talented (and charismatic) volunteers and to interview people who are living out their passions. I wanted to break up with Fargo and never come back now I'm helping serve as a mouthpiece for the community. It's weird thinking of the places you end up.

Artwise, I have an exhibition opening September 10 in Mott the spot in southwestern North Dakota. I have an exhibition with dates pending in Aberdeen South Dakota and this fall I'm looking forward to participating in another apprenticeship with my friend Molly Mclain through the NDCA's Traditional Art and Folk Art Apprenticeship program under master rosemaler Pieper Bloomquist.

Speaking of folk art... I had the opportunity to submit a piece on the great Gary Greff and the Enchanted Highway to Raw Vision, an internationally acclaimed publication focusing on folk art, naive art, and art brut. It should hit newsstands next month and can be found at Barnes and Noble.


Featured Posts
Check back soon
Once posts are published, you’ll see them here.
Recent Posts
Archive
art, culture, north dakota, folk art, nostalgia, fashion, vintage, prairie, mixed media, low brow, surrealism, photography, journalist, writer, retro, travel, wanderlust, road trip, hillbilly, cyanotype, scherenschnitte, cut paper, girl, feminist,travel writer, americana
​
No tags yet.
Follow Us
  • Facebook Basic Square
  • Twitter Basic Square
  • Google+ Basic Square
bottom of page